Game Diary #1: Craziness ~ NES games

Arpegibe Well, this is my game diary. In this series, I’ll write a story in a sort of diary style. Of course it’s fake. But why do I write it then? Well, in the story I’ll hide some game names or obvious references to games or game series. At the end I’ll post the solution and where you can find them. Can you find them all? I’ll try to give each entry a certain theme. In this article I’ll hide 10 (popular) Nintendo series. Are you ready? Let’s go then! Oh, leave in the comments how many series you found. Also, when I made a reference without noticing, feel free to put it in the comments. Oh yeah, if you play this game, be careful while reading the comments for spoilers. Oh yeah, all the references are NES games. 

The entry

Dear game diary,

Today I played several games again. It’s almost like yesterday when I met Troid. Man, he is a great guy. I played the whole day with him. I’m jealous of his job. He is a game reviewer for a magazine. It earns way more then my paper boy job at the local news store.

Troid told me that he wants to go to space one day. Sadly enough, we are bound to earth.

Mom bought a new vacuum cleaner today. I saw the name Kirby on the vacuum bag. The previous one broke. My dad told me that a metal gear in it went missing. Well, I don’t remember it exactly what he told me, and it doesn’t matter that much really. We have a new vacuum cleaner.

My dad came back from his duck hunt the other day and showed us the dog he found. Jokingly he said that he saw the dog laughing to him whenever he missed the ducks. I have such a crazy old man. My mother isn’t that crazy on the other hand, well she is crazy about him.

Felix, our cat, threw up on the carpet today. My brother had to clean it up. It has his fault. I know that it’s my cat, but hey, if it’s his fault; I’m not going to clean up his mess.

But I’m going to leave it here. The kick-off of the soccer match is about to start.

Cheers,

Jonez

The solution.

And now, in order. (Select the text to see it.)

  1. “met Troid” , come on, just paste that together.
  2. The holiday job is a title of a NES game. Paper-boy.
  3. The most difficult one: “bound to earth”. Earthbound. 
  4. Yes, Kirby is also the name of a vacuum bag.
  5. a Metal Gear is missing.
  6. Duck Hunt, the activity from which the dad returned. 
  7. “My mother” – Mother series. (Yeah, cheated a bit on this one. Thought it would be a sneaky one for some challenge.)
  8. The cat’s name. Felix the cat. It’s a NES game.
  9. “Kick-Off” is the name of a soccer series.
  10. And yeah, Soccer is a NES game too.

Closing

So, I created this story while sitting on the bus home from college. I had this series on my Dutch blog, when I still had it, and now I decided to revive it. I hope you enjoyed trying to find them all. Feel free to send me idea’s for next time. But until my next article guys!

One thought on “Game Diary #1: Craziness ~ NES games

Share your thoughts/opinions here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.