First Impressions: Another Code: R – A Journey into Lost Memories (Wii) ~ A mystery novel

425px-AnothercodeR

Nintendo version of the website

So, I have this Wii sitting in my room. I got my Wii after I graduated from high school. Before that, I played a countless amount on my Nintendo DS. On there I played Another Code from the amazing developer Cing. They went bankrupt and they are no more. But when I saw that this game had a sequel for on the Wii, I didn’t doubt for a second, I had to play this game. I started to play it three days ago, and I have trouble putting it down. Yup, that’s my first impression in extremely short for you. But this wouldn’t be a valid blog entry if I didn’t explain myself. Otherwise, I will look as a fanboy of this game to you guys, which I kind of am. Visual novels always interested me and I love playing them. They always have a better story then other games and this game is no exception. Let me explain why this game is great and you all should give it a go. But, I’ll also explain some flaws with the system. 

The story.

01663042-photo-another-code-r-1

This game is a sequel to the great Nintendo DS game Another Code, it’s named that way in Europe. The American is Trance Memory. I actually advise you to play the DS game first. The Wii game takes place two years after this game. The story of the DS game is very often referenced.

The familiar characters from the original DS game are exactly the same in this Wii entry. There are also a lot of new characters, and you can easily get a reminder in the menu. Which is an awesome option. If you forgot which character was who, a reminder is there in game.

There is no voice acting. Which is a shame in my view. This game would have had big benefits from voice acting. Now it’s only the text displayed on the screen.

From what I saw of the story, it’s an enjoyable tale. It made me think back to the days I played the DS game. The main thing is again about memories. What I truly praise in this game is that at the end of each chapter, you get a small quiz to remind you what happened in the chapter, and it really helps when you forgot or didn’t play the game in a while.

 But enough about the story, I’ll dive more into that in the full review. The gameplay mimics a lot from its DS game. The controls, you’ll need to get used to them, are actually quite unique, and the mapping is great. Although it’s a pity that the detection of the Wii Remote seems a bit uneasy to use sometimes.

In this game, you can’t really run everywhere you please. It isn’t a step back, actually. This mechanic is set up in such a way that you can easily explore certain area’s and view them. Probably this made the developers have time for some great visuals.

As you guys might know, I’m not that difficult to please when it comes to graphics. But this game blew me away. The location of the game is bright and colorful, detailed and well-made. It feels great with the realistic story and nothing feels out of place. It’s detailed enough that it draws you into the story easily.

Can’t put this down.

screenshot_wii_another_code_r_a_journey_into_lost_memories005

This game is also a puzzle game. And a great one. With some side quests like recycling, there is a lot of variety to the game. You can even choose how your character reacts to a situation. It adds some replay value to the game to see how it plays out if you react in another way.

I don’t know if there are different endings, but I don’t assume there are. Otherwise, I would be extremely impressed. Because in other games with different endings, this game is good at hiding it then.

One flaw in this game is how you can look back at the previous conversation. This is a very welcome feature, but I haven’t seen a game get this right. I have to say, happy scrolling if you want to look for something.

There is no real tutorial. This is extremely welcome. Thanks to this, you can explore and learn the game at its own pace. You don’t have to “learn” everything at the start of the game, and you truly feel more free playing this game.

While exploring the area’s, things you can investigate blink in a yellow color. There is also a great indication on the screen to remind you. And pay attention, places you have explored, can also be of use later in the story. There are even various ways to control the game. Using the on-screen buttons or the buttons on your controller, it both is fluent.

This game is easy and difficult. For new players to the genre, this can become quite a challenge in certain area’s. But, for advanced players in this genre or style of game, you can progress without getting really stuck anywhere.

Various story lines.

another-code-r-wii-035

This game has various story lines running all at once. Thankfully, it’s never getting too much. When ever it’s too much to follow, a story line ends.

This game also has a very creative use of the buttons on your Wii remote. You’ll have to play the game to understand what I mean.

Before I close off this article, I want to mention the music. The music is pretty lighthearted. And it fits the tone of this game extremely well. You even have a music player in game to listen to the tracks or let them play as background music. And you can’t listen to tracks you haven’t heard in game yet.

That are most of my first impressions of this game. I’m nearly halfway in this great game. The length is great from what I played till now. This seems like a game that will take you more than one day to complete. If you really want to enjoy it at its full potential. Whenever I finish this game, I’ll surely write a review for you guys. But until the next time, and happy gaming!

17 thoughts on “First Impressions: Another Code: R – A Journey into Lost Memories (Wii) ~ A mystery novel

Share your thoughts/opinions here:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.